Documenting annual tournaments that have been discontinued. Less regular or one-off events are to be found in the Occasional Section. 

A more leisurely age

Gaynor Cup 1925-1950
Belfast Feis 1934-1970
O’Hanlon Premier 1942-1947
University College Dublin Congress 1948-1949
Sackville 1947-1959
Tormey Cup 1949-1970
Glorney Invitation  1951-1956
Feis Doire Colmcille 1956-1958
Skerries Whitsun 1956-1957
O’Hanlon Memorial 1960-1964

Late 1960s: Dawn of the weekender congress

Dublin Whitsun 1966-1968
Myles Farrington Memorial 1966-1967
Cork-UCC 1966-1968
Kevin Barry Open 1968-1975
Ballyclare 1968-1971
Ierne Open 1969-70

1970s: The Fischer boom years

Dublin Matchplay 1970-1973
Wexford 1971-1988
Dublin Classic 1973-2003
Cavan 1974-1980
West of Ireland 1976-1980
Collegians 1976-1977
Castlebar 1977-1983
Belfast Summerfest 1977-2005
Waterford Open 1977-1986
County Tipperary Open, Thurles 1979-1994

1980s: Further growth

Downpatrick 1980-1987
Rathmines 1981-1999
Mullingar 1981-1993
Carlow  1982-1984
Greystones 1983-1987
Cork 1983-1990
Dun Laoghaire 1984-1985
Ballyfermot 1985-2000
Benildus/Dundrum 1987-2000
Ulster Open 1988-2005

1990s and beyond: The recent past

QUB Open 1993-1996
Waterford 2011-2012
Lost Knights 2012-2013

One response to “Discontinued

  1. Pingback: Update | Irish Chess History

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.