37 years of the Kilkenny Congress

The first edition was in 1977 and the tournament’s early winners include a veritable who’s who of top Irish players. However in 1994 the Congress moved to another level when it re-badged the Open section as a Masters event. Every year since then, the organisers have invited a group of foreign GMs to spice up the competition for the local stars.

The 2013 Kilkenny Congress has just finished and it seems an appropriate time to update our Kilkenny page, which previously had stopped at 2004 but now it goes all the way up to the present day, including those newly-minted 2013 results. However, we’ve also been digging about in the earlier years too, and can now present results for every one of the 37 editions. For the first 21 one of those we have the leading scorers but from 1998 full final placings are given.

1 Comment

Filed under Kilkenny

One response to “37 years of the Kilkenny Congress

  1. Andrew Wright

    Has any one got a copy of Eamon Keogh Andrew Wright. Kilkenny open?.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.